Jammu & Kashmir

Loading map...

Jammu & Kashmir

Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) is a state in northern India, granted special autonomy under Article 370 of the Constitution of India. State day is observed on 6th February. J&K consists of three regions: Jammu, the Kashmir Valley and Ladakh. Srinagar is the summer capital, and Jammu is the winter capital. The Kashmir valley is famous for its beautiful mountainous landscape, and Jammu's numerous shrines attract tens of thousands of Hindu pilgrims every year. Ladakh, also known as "Little Tibet", is renowned for its remote mountain beauty and Buddhist culture. Wood from Kashmir is used to make high-quality cricket bats, popularly known as Kashmir Willow.

Education Status

According to the Census 2011, Jammu and Kashmir has a literacy rate of 68.74% (male literacy rate 78.26% and female literacy rate 58.01%).

In 1970, the state government of Jammu and Kashmir established its own education board and university. Public and Private schools recognized by Jammu and Kashmir State Board of School Education (abbreviated as JKBOSE) imparts education to students at primary level, middle level, and high secondary level. In addition, there are Kendriya Vidyalayas and Indian Army schools that impart secondary school education, which follow Central Board of Secondary Education pattern. There are several top standard Government aided and unaided (private) colleges and other academic institutions for higher education.