Loading map...


Karnataka is a state in South West India, originally known as the State of Mysore it was renamed as Karnataka in 1973. State day is observed on 1st November. Kannada (one of the classical languages of India) is the official language of Karnataka and State bird is Indian Roller. Karnataka accounts for 60% of the country’s coffee production. Jog Falls are the highest plunge waterfalls in India, formed by Sharavathi River.

Education Status

According to the Census 2011, Karnataka has a literacy rate of 75.60% (male literacy rate 82.85% and female literacy rate 68.13%).

There are three kinds of schools in the state, viz. government, private aided (financial aid provided by the government) and private unaided (no financial aid). The primary languages of instruction in most schools are Kannada and English. The syllabus taught in the schools is either of the CBSE, the ICSE or the state syllabus (SSLC) defined by the Department of Public Instruction of the Government of Karnataka. However, some schools follows NIOS (National Institute of Open Schooling) syllabus. The State has one Sainik School in Bijapur also. There are 186 engineering, 39 medical and 41 dental colleges in the state in 2010.