Loading map...


Odisha (formerly known as Orissa) is an Indian state on the subcontinent's eastern part. Symbols of Odisha: State day is observed on 1st April, official Language is Oriya, Song is Bande Utkala Janani, Dance is Odissi, Animal is Sambar Deer, Bird is Indian Roller, Flower is Ashoka, Tree is Ashwatha. Bhubaneswar is the capital of Odisha. The Jagannatha Temple in Puri (one of the Char Dhams) known for its annual Rath Yatra or Car Festival situated about 60km away from Bhubaneswar. Chilika Lake, a brackish water lake is the largest coastal lake in India and the second largest in the world

Education status

According to the Census 2011, Odisha has a literacy rate of 73.45% (male literacy rate 82.40% and female literacy rate 65.36%). The overall literacy rate is marginally behind of the national average of 74.04%.

The core subjects taught in schools include Science (including Physics, Chemistry and Biology), Mathematics (Arithmetic, Algebra, Geometry, Trigonometry, Computer Science, and Set theory), Social Studies (Geography, History, Civics and Economics), and three languages, which are usually Oriya, Hindi and English. Additionally, school children receive training in sports and physical education, as well as vocational training. After ten years of schooling, children at the end of class(X) must appear in one of the three school examinations: 1. All India Secondary School Examination (AISSE) which is conducted by the CBSE, 2. Odisha High School Certificate Examination, which is conducted by the Board of Secondary Education, Odisha (BSE) and 3. Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) examination, conducted by the New Delhi based CISCE. Entry to various institutes of higher education especially into engineering degrees is through a centralised Odisha Joint Entrance Examination, conducted by the Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT), Rourkela. Almost all the engineering, pharmacy, architecture and most of the colleges offering MBA degree programmes are either constituent or affiliated colleges of BPUT.