Uttar Pradesh

Loading map...

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh as abbreviated UP is a state located in northern India. It was created on 1 April 1937 as the United Provinces, and was renamed Uttar Pradesh in 1950. State day is observed on 1st November. State symbols of Uttar Pradesh: State animal is Swamp deer, State bird Sarus is crane, State tree is Saal, State flower is Palash, State Dance is Kathak, and State Sport Field hockey. Lucknow is the administrative capital of Uttar Pradesh. Notable scholars who were born, worked or studied in the geographic area of the state include Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Motilal Nehru, Harish Chandra and Indira Gandhi and famous Indian hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand also belonged from the state.

Education Status

According to the Census 2011, Uttar Pradesh has a literacy rate of 69.72% (male literacy rate 79.24% and female literacy rate 59.26%).

Uttar Pradesh has more than 30 government aided and private universities including 4 central universities, 20 state universities, 8 deemed universities, two IITs, one IIM in Lucknow, one NIT in Allahabad and several polytechnics, engineering colleges and industrial training institutes (ITI). Jagadguru Rambhadracharya Handicapped University is the only university established exclusively for the disabled in the world