Loading map...


Uttarakhand formerly known as Uttaranchal was formed in 2000 as 27th state of the Republic of India from the Himalayan hill region of Uttar Pradesh. State day observed on 9th November, State Animal is Himalayan Musk Deer, State Bird is Himalayan Monal, State Flower is Brahma kama, State Tree is Burans. It is often referred to as the Devbhumi (“Land of the Gods") due to the many Hindu temples and pilgrimage centres throughout the state. Uttarakhand has many tourist spots due to its location in the Himalayas. There are many ancient temples, forest reserves, national parks, hill stations, and mountain peaks that draw large number of tourists. There are 44 nationally protected monuments in the state. Some of the most famous hill stations in India are in Uttarakhand is Mussoorie, Nainital, Dhanaulti, Lansdowne, Sattal, Almora, Kausani, Bhimtal, and Ranikhet. Nanda Devi, the second-highest mountain in India is also in the state.

Education Status

According to the Census 2011, Uttarakhand has a literacy rate of 79.63% (male literacy rate 88.33% and female literacy rate 70.70%).

There are around 15,331 primary schools with 1,040,139 students and 22,118 working teachers. The language of instruction in the schools is either English or Hindi. There are mainly government-run, private unaided (no government help), and private aided schools in the state. The main school affiliations are CBSE, CISCE or the state syllabus defined by the Department of Education of the Government of Uttarakhand. Uttarakhand is also home to a number of government aided and unaided universities, degree colleges, computer-training institutes, industrial training institutes, polytechnic institutes and other technical training institutes.